30 by 30 · Bucket List

#30by30 I can finally drive

Better late than never right šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜ 

I started learning how to drive at 19. Fresh out of A levels.. and before I started University, I had a lot of free time so for the fun of it, i decided to learn driving. I wasn’t that keen to be honest, at that time. In retrospect, there were a lot of things I wasn’t aware of while driving. I took lessons privately and I think it was a big mistake. I’m not going to blame it on anything or anyone else but myself obviously… I’d say I wasn’t prepared and I pretty much dived into it. Of course I failed my TP at that time. I was sad for awhile but I also gave up. 

For some reason, on the day after I turned 27, I decided to enrol myself into BBDC. I was in a bus and I was pretty much free so I did an online pre-enrolment and because I was in the area, I managed to collect the theory books and made arrangements to attend the compulsory basic theory lessons (even though I already took mine, just one of the ways they made money out of me I guess). This was in April. 

I started practical training proper in mid June. So… For the past 4 months I tried to schedule myself one lesson a week. August was hard mainly because I didn’t do what I was told to; booking a lot of 25 lessons. I mostly relied on cancellations to get a slot on my off days and I also grew a liking for certain time slots too. I don’t know about other driving centres but I was enrolled under the fixed group scheme so I met the same trainers over and over. 

Also there were so many changes to the system and the method of learning ever since I stopped back in 2007. I feel old now guys. I feel old when a kid born in 1997 sat next to me in Basic classes. 

Also in June we did a self drive holiday (NTS I have not finished writing about my trip HAHAHA) and I thought hey it would be pretty fun to drive a camper van too. Of course I didn’t try because already the wildlife were dying from road accidents, I don’t need to make it worse by endangering our lives too. šŸ˜‚

So back to my driving. If anyone is interested I spent about 2.6k$ šŸ˜© it’s a lot of money, really. 

My overall experience with BBDC is Super. The instructors and staff were really nice. Although I was initially afraid of the Team Leader of my group and I think I annoyed him a few times in the beginning and towards the end when I started asking stupid questions. My boyfriend took his Class 3 and all the bike licenses with BBDC too and apart from the fact that they are the nearest (still a 45min journey for me though), they were very thorough and systematic. Im all for the orderly and the systematic. 

On my test day, it rained. It rained cats and dogs so I really had no capacity to remain calm. I was nervous as hell. 

I forgot to turn on my lights and my demister and made a couple of stupid mistakes that I am too embarrassed to discuss here so let’s just leave it as that. I’m happy that I passed though. One thing off my list. May I never be one of those lady drivers who will look ahead blankly after I’ve done something wrong to you. šŸ˜

 

Leave a comment