Bucket List · Places worth visiting · Travel

To go: Asia

Bucket list for Asia! For this region, i am extremely interested in its rich culture and history… and of course the array of languages and food!

When i visited Bali for the first time back in 2009, i wasn’t there for the partying and the beaches. It was an eye opening experience for me to see the lifestyles of the people there. For instance, how their names (reference: names that you think are just common) really meant that they were from different castes. And how their teens had to go through a teeth filing ceremony, something like a coming of age thing. But my best memory of Bali was to visit the driver’s family. 🙂 from then on, i had so much interest in the simplicity of life in Asian communities.

1. JOGJAKARTA, INDONESIA

To see Borobudur and to eat! Home of some UNESCO sites. My parents actually visited this place on their honeymoon lol! Other sites include Ratu Boko of the Prambanan. Many mystical stories about this place which makes me all the more interested.

image
Nat geo

2. SIEM REAP, CAMBODIA

image
Wikipedia

Another awesome UNESCO site. Been wanting to visit Angkor Wat ever since  2007 and 7 years on, im still procrastinating… soon hopefully!

3. KATHMANDU, NEPAL

Seems like there are many many UNESCO sites! Apart from the obvious Mt. Everest, KTM has got much of its culture to offer. Most of the hiking itineraries are more than 10 days long and it will take a lot of sacrifice for me to commit to this idea. Maybe I’ll end up doing a short one instead.

image
Columbia.edu

4. SRI LANKA (various sites)

I’ve read up a little about this country and thought about the many places i would like to visit.. like the Tea Trails, maybe with Nuwara Eliya (i’m more of a coffee person but i love an occasional tea!), Adam’s Peak where they believe our ancestor Adam first set foot on this Earth and it’s also a pilgrimage site for many many people. Lastly i would love to see the famous beaches of Sri Lanka 🙂

image
Paradisebeachmirissa.com

5. MONGOLIA (various sites)

image
Togotours

Another amazing destination with a lot of history. Speaking about Temujin/Genghis Khan roused some curiosity in me about the people of Mongolia and their history. I would love to visit the Gobi desert too! I survived the Sahara so i think i should be able to do this one too. Heh.

6. KAZAKHSTAN (various sites)

image
Aboutkazakhstan.com

I also heard a lot about this place (not from Borat) from some friends who went to experience camping or living with the locals. I think its interesting and something that ill surely appreciate.

7. Cappadocia, Pamukkale, Bozcaada TURKEY

I know its a split opinion that Turkey could be Asian or European. I’ll just file it in my Asian to-go list because honestly, there aren’t that many places I’m dying to visit in Asia (haha). It took me a long time to really think about this list… here are the beautiful places that I’d love to see in Turkey

image
Onenationtravel.org
image
Bozcaadabiz.com
image
Traveljunkiediary.com

Beautiful! And these places do remind me a little of the islands off Athens. So dreamyyy!

8. JAPAN (various)

For me i think the historical aspect of Japan really intrigues me. The places that i cannot miss would be the former Samurai towns and Geisha districts.

image
Studiokotokoto.com
image
Oeil-et-plume.net

9. DHARAMSALA, INDIA

If i really had to pick a place in India, this would be it. Its high up, really cool in the colder months and has a rich Tibetan and Buddhist history. Its a pretty good, stopover or since-i-am-in-India retreat.

image
Not-home.com

10. NORTH KOREA

One of the stops that anyone could take in Korea is to visit the North. I’ve always been intrigued with the Communist lifestyle ever since i took a Cold War module back in school. It’s amazing how, for so long, they’ve managed to efficiently run their country and keep the people happy. I know people may have mixed reviews about it but its a trip i don’t wish to forgo.

image
Wikitravel North Korea
Leave a Reply

